Tigers take care of Clearfield | News, Sports, Jobs

Hollidaysburg swept Clearfield, 7-0, in both teams’ first Mountain League high school boys’ tennis game in a match played at Summit Tennis and Athletic Club on Wednesday.

Nathan Barton, Ben Johnson, Jadd Younes, Haddy Obeid and Colin Edgell have won singles matches for the Golden Tigers.

The team of Nolen Tyndall and Trent Gallagher won at the No. 1 double, and Eric Arbogast and Robert Barroner won at the No. 2 double for Hollidaysburg.

SINGLES: 1. Barton, H, def. Good, 6-0, 6-0; 2. Johnson, H, def. Evilsizor, 6-0, 6-0; 3. Jadd Younes, M, def. Brickley, 6-0, 6-0; 4. Obeid, H, def. Marshal, 6-0, 6-0; 5. Edgell, H, def. Greslick, 6-0, 6-0.

DOUBLES: 1. Tyndall-Gallagher, M, def. Way-Wriglesworth, 10-2; 2. Arbogast-Barroner, H, def. Fletcher-Michael.

Records: Holidaysburg (4-0); Clearfield (0-1).

Miller and Parker share MVP title

Marin Miller of Hollidaysburg and Jaida Parker of Tyrone were recently named Mountain League co-MVPs in high school women’s basketball.

Miller’s and Parker’s teams also shared the overall title, both losing only one championship match to each other.

Tyrone also had two first teams on the girls side in junior Kayelin Gibbons and senior Stephanie Ramsey. Hollidaysburg junior Alison Hatajik also made the first team.

Alexis Troup of Huntingdon and Kailen Winkelblech of Penns Valley rounded out the girls’ first team.

Emma Getz of Tyrone and Sydney Lear of Hollidaysburg were the local players who made the second team. Emma Hipps and Cayleigh Walker of Clearfield each made the second team in addition to Madison Perry of Bald Eagle Area.

Bellefonte’s Emalee Neff and Maria Cotter received honorable mentions along with Penns Valley’s Ann-Marie McMurtrie, BEA’s Abigail Hoover and Huntingdon’s Lily Borger.

On the boys’ side, Bellefonte’s Blair Eckley-Jones was selected as the MVP. The Red Raiders shared the Mountain League title with Tyrone, who was represented in the first team by senior Landen DeHaas.

Zach Braucht (Penns Valley), Alec Cooper (Huntingdon), Jeremy Whitehead (Philipsburg-Osceola) and Cole Miller (Clearfield) joined DeHaas in the first team.

Tyrone’s Cortlynd Rhoades and Hollidaysburg’s Jake McGinnis made the second team along with Josh Bryson (Huntingdon), Jake DeSimone (PO) and Ryan Gearhart (Clearfield).

Tyrone’s Keegan Gwinn and Hollidaysburg’s Jake Hileman and Carson Rhodes made the honorable mention team with Bellefonte’s Nick Way and Ty Kroell.

ICC stars named

The Intercounty Conference this week released its winter all-star rosters for men’s and women’s basketball, as well as wrestling.

The Mirror’s coverage area boys’ basketball team included Lambert Palmer of Williamsburg, Mason Peterson of Glendale and Sean Mallon and Kyler Sweigert of Bellwood-Antis, as well as Wyatt Buell of Claysburg-Kimmel.

Honorable mention went to RJ Royer and Rowan Gorsuch of Williamsburg and Cullen Lloyd and Mason Detterline of Northern Bedford.

In women’s basketball, Williamsburg’s Ayla Hileman and Jayla Woodruff made the team, as did Bellwood-Antis’ Chelsea McCaulsky, Lydia Worthing and Jaidyn McCracken. Glendale was represented by Minyhah Easterling, while Rebekah Claar did so for Claysburg-Kimmel and Mariah Hall for Northern Bedford.

Honorable mentions went to Alyssa Sinclair of Glendale, Ashley Kichman of Northern Bedford and Bailey Garver of Claysburg-Kimmel.

For wrestling, Glendale brothers Zeke and Suds Dubler made the team, along with teammates Britton Spangle and George Campbell. Eion Snider and Derek Beach of Northern Bedford were recognized, as was Ethan Norris of Bellwood-Antis.


FIRST TEAM: Devin Delo and Jayvion Brumbaugh, Mount Union; Ty Terry, Curwensville; Chris Deihl, Juniata Valley; Nate Myers, Ethan Taylor, Lance Carbaugh, Southern Huntingdon; Zach Price, South Fulton; Clinton Russell, Everett; Hunter Hill, Wyatt Appleby, Fannett-Metal; Kole Truax, McConnellsburg

HONORABLE MENTION: Zack Tiraconda, Isaac Tiraconda, West Branch; Michael Kitko, Moshannon Valley; Konnor Pittman, Dane Harvey, Southern Fulton; Kyle Romig, McConnellsburg; Landon Myers, Tussey Mountain’


FIRST TEAM: Jenna Mertz, West Branch; Avery Taylor, Juniata Valley; Kendal McMath, south of Huntingdon; Lainie Treece, Chloe Price, Everett; Kailee Leonard, Karli Lucko, Tussey Mountain; Lainnie Glenn, McConnellsburg


Makenna Hartman, Juniata Valley; Alyssa Bakaysa, Curwensville; Andrea Elder, Southern Fulton; Jenna Hoffman, Fannett-Metal; Marissa Shawley, South of Huntingdon


Landon Bainey, West Branch; Matt Watkins, Trevor Husick, Chad Weist, Ezra Masood, Tussey Mountain; Mason Beatty, AJ Chilcote, Mount Union; Elijah Mills, Reese Sherwood, Everett; Jake Carfley, Nik Fegert, Damian Brady, Logan Aughenbaugh, Curwensville; David Honan, Moshannon Valley; Tommy Cohenour, south of Huntingdon; Ben Carolus, Juniata Valley

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Comments are closed.